An Old-Fashioned Girl

by Louisa May Alcott

It was first serialised in the Merry’s Museum magazine between July and August in 1869 and consisted of only six chapters. For the finished product, however, Alcott continued the story from the chapter “Six Years Afterwards” and so it ended up with nineteen chapters in all. The book revolves around Polly Milton, the old-fashioned girl who titles the story. Polly visits her wealthy friend Fanny Shaw in the city and is overwhelmed by the fashionable and urban life they live––but also left out because of her “countrified” manners and outdated clothes.

The novel was the basis of a 1949 musical film starring Gloria Jean as Polly.

Chapter I. Polly Arrives

Chapter II. New Fashions

Chapter III. Polly’s Troubles

Chapter IV. Little Things

Chapter V. Scrapes

Chapter VI. Grandma

Chapter VII. Good-By

Chapter VIII. Six Years Afterward

Chapter IX. Lessons

Chapter X. Brothers and Sisters

Chapter XI. Needles and Tongues

Chapter XII. Forbidden Fruit

Chapter XIII. The Sunny Side

Chapter XIV. Nipped in the Bud

Chapter XV. Breakers Ahead

Chapter XVI. A Dress Parade

Chapter XVII. Playing Grandmother

Chapter XVIII. The Woman Who Did Not Dare

Chapter XIX. Tom’s Success